Audio

Tribute to John Clarke… Drier than an ibis in a drought

10 Apr

John Clarke 2Sadly I admit my love of John Dawe’s comedy up until I heard about his death this morning has been random.

I couldn’t even say which channel I’ve seen him on. But the odd occasion that I chanced upon his brief appearances on TV I stopped there and laughed a lot.

I remember his dry wit and not-even-attempts at impersonations of drongos from today’s news, events and issues.

He was an inspiration to Mozart and Coltrane’s political satire, though I’m not sure that he would be proud to hear that.

He broke down the barrier between the arts and journalism, as he says John Lennon did in that song “I heard the news today oh boy…”

Here him talk about what made him creative and watch some Clarke and Dawe on TV – I mean Youtube.

Vale John Clarke – died of natural causes hiking in the Grampians too young.

Leave a Reply

